Red and yellow, black and white


I followed this link after seeing it in a post on a friends page on – what else – Facebook.

As I can not figure out how to insert  a link (curse you WordPress changes) here it is to copy and paste:

(http://www.huffingtonpost.com/john-halstead/dear-fellow-white-people-_b_11109842.html)

First, let me say, I have come to this opinion (and I know – opinion’s are like assholes, we all have them and they all stink) over the years, having friends of many races and (apparently from this study it matters) living in different places and income levels.

The opinion? EVERYONE is racist. EVERYONE. To some level, we all are. If you don’t agree, well…it’s my opinion and my site, so I can say what I want.  I believe we should agree to disagree and get over it.

The reason I think everyone is? We have spoken the stereotypes – Asians can’t drive. Black people are good at sports. All men who live in the mountains think you have a purdy mouth. Hispanics are all illegals. All white people used to be slave owners. All middle eastern people want to blow us up. These stereotype, whether said in jest or not, are racist.

The article. Wow. I take offense at some of the points – many of them. I do believe to agree to disagree, but again, my site and I want to talk about it, open a dialogue . This is how I take the things that are said –

I had this really long tirade written – my English teachers would have been proud of my ability to get a thousand words out of me in an assignment. 

As I read through it, though, I realized something –  I feel this article is telling me that, because white people try not to be racist, it makes us racist. Which brings me back to everyone is, not just white people, everyone. What is important, what should be one of everyone’s main goals n life – is to try our best not to be.

We should judge a person not by their race, their income status, or where they live, but rather by their character.

“Red and yellow, black or white..they are precious in his sight..Jesus loves the little children of the world”

Just so it is known, though – if my dog doesn’t like you..I probably won’t either.

Oh! There is a test linked in the article to take to tell you how racist you are:

https://implicit.harvard.edu/implicit/takeatest.html

This is what it decided about me:

Your data suggest a moderate automatic preference for European American compared to African-American.
If your score was described as ‘inconclusive,’ then your performance was not within the range to provide an interpretable result. Most inconclusive results are due to a high number of errors.

Depending on the magnitude of your result, your automatic associations may be described as ‘slight’, ‘moderate’, ‘strong’, or ‘little to no preference’. How implicit associations affect our judgments and behaviors is not well understood and may be influenced by a number of variables. As such, the score should serve as an opportunity for self-reflection, not as a definitive assessment of your implicit thoughts or feelings. This and future research will clarify the way in which implicit thinking and feelings affects our perception, judgment, and action.

 

Who decides what a mistake is, btw? (and speaking of mistakes – hey Harvard – spell check says that  interpretable is not a word)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

