Dear Insomnia,


I think it is time we went our separate ways. It’s not me, it’s you.

I know, I know. We had so much fun, up all night and most of the day in my younger years. However, I am not as young as I once was and I really need my beauty sleep.

I realize our song was “Rock and Roll All Night”

… 

….but those days are over. I can, at times, rock and roll most of the night, maybe even party some of the day (depending on if I rock and rolled the night before), but I need quite a bit more recovery time now.

Yes, I used to say I can sleep when I am dead, and I think that kinda hits the nail on the head these days.

I also need to tell you that I have been seeing someone else. I am not in love with either of you, but if I have to choose, ambien is the one I will keep. While you both leave me sleepy most of the time, I prefer the small amount of pleasure I get from our time together more than the memories of our times passed.

So, Insomnia, I think it is time for you to go. Really. And don’t slam the door on your way out. It will make the dogs bark and keep me awake.

Sincerely,

Me.

Leave a Reply

