What if God was one of us..(con’t)


Edit  – Apparently, as you can see from all of the comments below –  that this has hit a big nerve for some people. I am not sure what is up here. I pulled the story from the Facebook post of a friend, mainly because the story struck a chord with me – after my experience a couple days ago (Please see the original posting – What if God was One of Us)… I changed the picture because people had a problem with me using the picture I had with it – having not given credit to the original photographer – I don’t know who took the picture I am using now either – but know that I did not take it.

There also seems to be a big problem with the story itself. It is a story – meant to make you think. True? Made up? I don’t know for sure..so, I will also change his name – as if that would matter. A clergyman has commented below that he was taught this story in seminary school. Still doesn’t mean it’s true. Also doesn’t mean it isn’t.

I wondered as I read the influx of comments to my email  – is it that everyone truly has a problem with the credits for the picture, the factuality of the story or the trickery supposedly involved…or does it just hit too close to home?

I appreciate the message that is the moral of the story. I believe it is very simple…practice what you preach.  As I stated in a reply to the comments below- I don’t believe that a grasshopper really put off stocking up for the winter only to ask the ant if he could have a nibble. I don’t believe in talking grasshoppers or ants. I do believe in God and that this is a story- whether truth or fiction – that makes you think – as it should.  ~~~  A.C.

preacherblog

Pastor John Smith transformed himself into a homeless person and went to the 10,000 member church that he was to be introduced as the head pastor at that morning. He walked around his soon to be church for 30 minutes while it was filling with people for service….only 3 people out of the 7-10,000 people said hello to him. He asked people for change to buy food….NO ONE in the church gave him change. He went into the sanctuary to sit down in the front of the church and was asked by the ushers if he would please sit n the back. He greeted people to be greeted back with stares and dirty looks, with people looking down on him and judging him.

As he sat in the back of the church, he listened to the church announcements and such. When all that was done, the elders went up and were excited to introduce the new pastor of the church to the congregation……..”We would like to introduce to you Pastor Joe Smith”….The congregation looked around clapping with joy and anticipation…..The homeless man sitting in the back stood up…..and started walking down the aisle…..the clapping stopped with ALL eyes on him….he walked up the altar and took the microphone from the elders (who were in on this) and paused for a moment….then he recited

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’
“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

After he recited this, he looked towards the congregation and told them all what he had experienced that morning…many began to cry and many heads were bowed in shame…. he then said….Today I see a gathering of people……not a church of Jesus Christ. The world has enough people, but not enough disciples…when will YOU decide to become disciples? He then dismissed service until next week…….Being a Christian is more than something you claim. I’ts something you live by and share with others.

32 responses to “What if God was one of us..(con’t)

  1. I know what you mean. I never wanted to be a part of that culture. Too rebellious to take orders…LoL I consider myself more of a Motorcycle Pilot, then a “Biker”.
    But I was an outlaw in the organized religious circles. I was never one for suits, but they seem to look at the appearance of a man to merit his abilities or to measure his place in God….instead of looking at the heart of a Man…as God does. Saul/Paul was a murderer, but God saw fit to blind him of his self an then heal him, baptize him an fill him with His Spirit an he went on to reach countless souls for the Kingdom’s Honor an God’s Glory. Amen. Some illnesses can be attributed to the sins that one commits. Paul stated that he repented daily….meaning that he turned from what his flesh wanted to do….towards what the Spirit was calling him to do. Yes, I think you Brother in Law is being healed by his obedience to the word that is coming to him. I encourage everyone to read the word of God, obey it an live a life that is pleasing to HIM> so that you will inherit eternal life after this one is finished its course. Read an obey Acts 2:38. Having a clean slate is awesome. TY for posting this tale….I see it more as a parable. I don’t care if it’s real or fake….like I said the intent is right on target. Try it at a church this Sunday and see if it is so. I dare ya…..LoL

  2. Mr. Foust – my brother-in-law, whom we adore, was an Outlaw. You will know what that means, I am sure, though many may not. He is a great guy whom we all love a great deal. He is in church every Sunday and lives a good life, He was going blind and had an epiphany – that he wasn’t living his life quite the way God would have liked..changed the way he was living and his site is coming back. Now, I am still not a believer in THAT extent – though, after my accident, you would think I would be, but if this is why he is regaining his sight – praise the Lord and pass the gravy!!

  3. I think it’s spot on….I’ve seen this happen first hand. I ride a motorcycle an have seen the looks, locked car doors as we walk by, clutching purses tight against the body……ya think I didn’t see all that. We show up in church an the Pastor suddenly starts preaching on clothing? Come on. I dig the tale, made up or not…..it’s true to the intent. God bless ya.

  4. I totally agree with all those who say, in one form or another, that stealing the rights of the photograph is dishonest, and a warm and fuzzy bogus story, designed to manipulate the emotions, is NOT ok even if it promotes some kind of morality or truth. Let’s ask: Where is this VERY LARGE church located? A picture perhaps? When did this happen? Who is the writer (who is writing it as though he observed it and, indeed, even knew the elders were in on the plan)? This is not on the same level as “ant and grasshopper” children’s stories or Jesus’ parables. The picture is purported to be that of a homeless man who went to the church, and it is not. A lie is still a lie. Let’s be a little more discerning.

  5. You know what, I really feel sorry for you people that are saying these nasty things about this writing. hat is wrong with a story like this does it make you feel ashamed of your actions, if not it should. Take time to look into your heart and ask yourself this question . Where am I in my relationship with the one that loved you so much and gave His life for you even when you didn’t deserve it. He did it anyway because He loves you.

  6. julie star*jackson

    get over it! good story great acting ya’all are just upset cause you got busted being human and superly duperly
    mean at that

  7. to all of you people commenting, i have a serious question… do you really believe in God, in a thing that you have been told about countless times but have yet to see. do you honestly think there is some higher being that governs what happens after we die?And that this being is soo self centered that he would send you to Hell if you didn’t believe in him, regardless of whether or not you are a good person in this life.

  8. If this is true or not it does not matter, this is about humanity and those that are nitpicking we feel sorry for. God loves us all and he can enter our lives in many different way. Excellent story regardless of true or a parable.

  9. It’s already being used as an example of “Christian manipulation” He ends with a series of questions including: ” How do Christians expect us to believe anything that is written in the Bible when practices such as these are common place? ” I personally don’t get it and why we defend the practice – really we don’t need to be truthful?

    http://www.abovetopsecret.com/forum/thread960925/pg1

  10. You can’t really sit here and make comments like “Ed, It’s not the story, it’s the message.” with a straight face, right? I mean, is the message to tell lies to manipulate others understanding of the truth and steal other people’s property? Because that is the primary message being delivered here. Change the title or body to indicate it is fictional, credit the property/photograph owner (or at least ask them for permission), and then the message you are trying to share might be a tad more legitimate.

  11. Seriously, credit the photographer, admit the story is made up. The lesson is good, but lying and stealing to tell it dilutes your efforts somewhat.

  12. Funny how most dismiss the TRUE lesson that is trying to be taught by pointing out the IRRELEVANCY of whether the story or person is real. smh @ the ignorance.

  13. Your use of this image amounts to theft. Copyright infringement is a crime. Your use of this photo demonstrates your complete disregard for the property of others

  14. Jorge Dominugez

    God puts people as a reminder that he is keeping track of all those things that we do.

  15. This is a true story. The name may not be his real name but as a former pastor I know this happened. We were also taught about this in a evangelism class in seminary. I myself have done something similar on a couple of occasions when I would start at a new church or ministry. Even if ot was not real their is a great message in the story. As Christians we are often quick to judge but you never know who someone may be.

    • And that message is to what? lie, cheat, steal, and make things up to what “win a soul”? This is despicable and to justify violating the laws of Elohim and of Man to “make a point” is straight out of the pits of sheol.

    • Scott Cain – Can you verify that you know this story happened? Perhaps when and where? And how you were involved and able to confirm it? BTW, I still don’t think it’s true.

  16. kathy boscarino

    not a true story

  17. The Boy who Cried Wolf is just a story – but we tell the story to our children to teach a lesson, The Grasshopper and the Ant, too, just a story- that I have not been able to find proof that really happened, can you? Yet, we still tell the story to teach a lesson. I could see this happening at many churches I have been to, and done by many I have known who call themselves Christians … and I do not believe the message is distorted. The message is simple – practice what you preach.

    • Good points. The scriptures say that Jesus “spoke in parables and without a parable did he not speak.” All were for the purpose of learning. These parables while not what actually happened, we can learn from them, as the story conveys a deeper meaning.

      • Funny I didn’t see the scriptures saying that “jesus” stole from strangers to make his points either….

      • Wade Johnson

        Jesus made it very clear when he was telling a ‘story’. This is being passed off as ‘true’. Big difference in my opinion.

    • Soo… we can say this then? “The ressurection story is so beautiful and gives us great hope. Now it probably isn’t true, but really does that matter? It’s still a great story and can’t we get some inspiration out of it, even if it never really happened?” Jesus made it clear when he was telling a story, I think we have the obligation to do the same. Why even dabble with misleading people like this? You have made some gestures to indicate its just a story – but most passing this around haven’t and don’t seem to care.

  18. “Pastor Steepek” seems to actually be a homeless man in Richmond, Surrey as per this Flickr user’s photograph. Nice fable though. http://www.flickr.com/photos/bradgerrard/6181194702/in/faves-mix_master_b/

  19. Yes I too tried to check it out and feel it’s not real so the so called message is meaningless

  20. I’ve looked all over the Internet and this story appears to be pure urban legend being passed along by you and many others as truth. I can find no evidence of a Pastor Jeremaih Steepek. While I would agree the story is believable, why do we pass along lies? There is enough truth in the world.

    • Ed, It’s not the story, it’s the message.

      • The message is based on the story and it’s sold as if it’s legit. I have never been a part of a church where it would go down like this and I can’t comprehend a pastor doing this on their first day at a new place. It just doesn’t match reality so the message is distorted.

      • Yep.. it’s all about the message… go steal photo’s, make up lies and promote debased morals…. that’s an awesome message.. lets lie to our kids too and teach them about satan clause and the estar bunny while we’re at it.. fits the group it seems…

Leave a Reply

