Lordy, Lordy…look who’s forty..


Not me. Nope. Nuh uh.

Oh, alright, I admit it. Today is not the 15th anniversary of my 25th birthday. Today is my 40th birthday, but you know what? It is just a number. You are only as old as you feel.. some days, I feel 25..and some days, I feel 80! (teenagers and weeks of insomnia will do that to you!)

Who remembers when 40 was old? I remember when my parents were 40’ish. I thought they were so old. Of course, my mom had lived a difficult life, so she always was a little older than her years. I guess maybe I am, too.

But 40 isn’t so old anymore, and I don’t think it is just because we/I am now 40..I think because it is a different world now.

You guys remember when we were teens, say 13, 14? Our parents would drop us at the mall on Friday or Saturday nights and that’s what we did. We had a few dollars for a pretzel or bread sticks at Pizza Hut and we hung out till the mall closed and our parents would pick us up. My 13 year old asked if he could go hang out at the mall a couple of weeks ago with his friends  during the day, at that, and I couldn’t believe I was even hesitant, let alone that I eventually said no. Again, the world is just so different now.

40! Already. Seems like just yesterday I was standing on a chair at Bennigan’s, tapping the salt and pepper shakers and dancing in my chair while the servers/my friends sand the Bennigan’s Happy Birthday song to me…

(except, obviously I am not Grant Miller and youtube did not exist 19 years ago..you know, we barely had color television back then..)

So many things have changed since then. My weight – ha. A year later I met my husband. We had a son. We have lived in 7 different states through out the country. My – OUR – oldest  son is now, at 20, a US Marine. I have two dogs – and no one would have thought – even me – that I would be the dog lover that I am! So much so that I want to own my own doggie day care..that on my bucket list is to spend time at Dog Town.

The one I thought would be my best friend forever, we had been best friends since we were 12..I last spoke to her when I was 26, 13 years ago.  How things change.

I have learned so much through the years …

Complaining doesn’t change a thing. While yes, things could be better, they could always be worse. Look around, be grateful for what you have.

God will never give you more than you can handle. It may feel like it sometimes, but he knows your strength. Trust him.

Money is not the most important thing in life. It helps, but is not the most important. (It is difficult to say and believe this, being unemployed at the moment I am writing..but, it is true. I know it..I just have to remind myself – often.)

Yes, Goose, they have a nicer car than I do. You know what that means? They are deeper in debt than we are.

Yes, I have a big house. You know what that means? We owe the mortgage company a lot more than the family next door with the smaller house. We have a higher electric bill than they do. We have a lot more empty rooms now that we are down to one kid and us than they do.

That you should appreciate you parents while they are here (though that doesn’t mean I can’t complain)…

I have also learned, or rather realized, that our generation had the best childhoods..we had some “technology”..but still played outside and had imagination…

So, Happy 40 to me..and Tiffany (we “met” when we were 15 ‘ish and she stole my boyfriend – we have the same birthday…)…

Too old to be wild and free…too young to be over the hill…

One response to “Lordy, Lordy…look who’s forty..

  1. Jennifer Patton- Frey

    THAT WAS AWESOME!
    hAPPY bIRTHDAY sOUL sISTER!

Leave a Reply

