Happy Birthday, Dork!


It has taken a day or two to write this, so it is a wee bit late…

July 30, 1992…after being in labor for 18 hours… Justin Micheal Allen decided to join the world and changed my life. Thank you, Dork.

I was 18 and single,  my bipolar self was headed down quite possibly, a very bad road. Then, I found out I was pregnant. What was I going to do?

With the help and support of my parents – never, never would have been able to do it without them.. 8 months later I had a beautiful baby boy – who looked kinda like Popeye in his new born picture.

20 years later..I can’t imagine my life without him. He was the greatest kid (once we got through the 3 months of colic!) a damn good teen – moving as often as we have and all the while, rolling with the punches and staying clean, sober and out of trouble. It was hard when I was a teen ..looking around now, it must be 10 times more difficult. Now, as an adult, he is a LCPL in the United States Marine Corps, and is preparing to head to Quantico, VA to train to gu. Reese and I couldn’t be more proud.

I love you LCPL Dork! Happy Birthday…I wish we could be there to celebrate with you!

Leave a Reply

