Easter eggs, chocolate bunnies and Mundy’s Mill…


When I moved my blog from Yahoo to WordPress I lost A LOT of work. I am saddened by this, because in it was not only our trip to Disney, Dixie’s first July 4th, and about 3 years in Washington among the lost, but research on what on earth do eggs and a rabbit who brings candy in a basket have to do with EASTER?? But, that’s not what this is about.

Some of my favorite childhood memories are with my extended family. On holidays, we all got together, usually at Aunt Ruth and Uncle Bob’s house.  The whole family. My mom’s many brothers and sisters, cousins, nieces and nephews would come, some from many, many miles away. We all brought a dish and ate together. Sure, some of us had disagreements with each other, but they were set aside for the holidays. That’s how holidays were supposed to be, and how I wish they still were.

One particular Easter stands out…one of the bestI can remember.

I guess my sis and I must have been maybe 8 and 5…

We, my mom and dad, Melony and I  had gone to church that morning.. it was Melony’s birthday (- every few years her birthday falls on Easter). She had gotten a watch for her birthday and at noon announced to the congregation that “Brother Tommy – it’s 12:00 – time to go!”

After church, we met the rest of the family at Mundy’s Mill (for those who know the area – this was long before the mill burned) for family time. A sheet had been hung from trees so we could change out of our Easter dresses and on we went to play.

Easter egg hunts, fried chicken, potato salad and ambrosia salad (yuck).  I remember there was a water fall and my teen cousins had gone to the top and were going to go swimming in the lake below..it was beautiful then. One of them (who was it…?) fell over the falls…

Easter egg hunts always left one or two eggs never found with us, how about you?

Was a great day…wish our family still got together like this, but as the years have gone by, everyone moves, grows apart. People get older and the younger generations haven’t been raised with this, so they don’t know what they are missing – you can’t miss something you have never had….

One response to “Easter eggs, chocolate bunnies and Mundy’s Mill…

  1. It is now the location of the Mundy’s Mill High School… I love the post, and I loved visiting the Mill, and not the school one. Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

Leave a Reply

