Another Auld Lang Syne…


click here to play one of my favorite holiday songs, by Dan Fogelberg

This past year has been a very eventful one.

I am on my 3rd year cancer free (hold on – gotta do my Snoopy dance!)…

Pvt Dork headed to his first duty station in San Diego where he was promoted to LCPL Dork.  I finally got to see California on a trip out to surprise him for his birthday. In December, I finally got past the knot in my stomach and sent his car out to him. This was a big deal for me, as it was one less thing attached to my apron strings that keep him my little boy. I actually teared up as they put the car on the truck to leave (but I didn’t cry – cause crying is a sign of weakness and well..)

Goose started 7th grade – that hormonal year for the boys of our family. He is turning into a teenager right before our eyes and I DON’T LIKE IT!

We have a new member to my slightly extended family, Dd had a sweet little baby boy on December 22.

One of my best friends LA, and Marty, her high school sweetheart, lost touch so many years ago, now, 20 years later, are engaged !

Jen, my other best friend, her fireman proposed to her on her birthday and she and W are getting married, becoming a true Brady Bunch.

My friend Michele became –  HOLY cow! –  a grandmother – a few weeks early to an adorable baby boy who couldn’t wait till he was finished baking to meet his family.

A grandmother ?  Lemme say something here, my dear son, LCPL Dork – Michele and your Aunt Melony are ok with this – I AM NOT – I am too young to be a grandmother so …

I digress…

The year ended a bit on a sour note with some, and I hope that we all get past it quickly.

New Year’s Eve I worked. To some, this may sound like a crappy way to ring in the New Year..however, because I was at work, I couldn’t sleep – and the man came to work to hang with me until the midnight hour. The first time we have rang in the New Year awake together in wow- 13 years… well, we have – we watch the news and when it reached midnight in China we say Happy New Year ..that counts, right? Kinda goes with the “it’s always 5 o’clock somewhere ‘ rule…

In the end, I would like to say to all my friends and family, I love you all and I hope you all have a very happy and prosperous new year!

2 responses to “Another Auld Lang Syne…

  1. It is a wonderful feeling to be a Nana it makes us realize why we have children lol…I hope you have a great New Year and I hope this year we can all get together!!

  2. Awweeeeee I feel special! 🙂 love you!

Leave a Reply

