September 11, 2001


Where were you? Do you remember?

We lived in Kennesaw and I was in the car driving Little Reese to day care. Reese and I were painting the house and getting ready for Little Reese’s 2nd birthday party. We were having the party early because Catherine and Bill and Allen were in town.

They mentioned on the radio that a plane had hit the World Trade Center. I told the teacher at the day care to put the news on. I pictured a small airplane, one of those two seater things. By the time I got home, the second plane had hit and it was on the news.

As the plane went down in the field in Pennsylvania, and the other hit the Pentagon, they started scrolling the names and ages of the victims on the planes. So many children. I just cried. It made the upcoming celebration of my son’s second birthday that much more special to me.

Little Reese was (almost) 2, Justin was 9…

All generations have their own “Where were you..?” when Elvis died? When Kennedy was shot? Space Shuttle Challenger?

This day didn’t exactly change my way of thinking. I always had the belief that we should always tell those we love that we do often. I wondered for a while that this maybe  lessened the sincerity of the phrase .. after the events of the morning of September 11, I don’t think so.

So, remember, life is terminal, live it with joy and passion as it ought to be lived. You never know which day will be your last. Do you want you last words to your husband to be words of anger or words of love? To your children?

To all of my family, and to all of my friends…I love you.

Leave a Reply

