Merry Christmas already?


Already? I ask, as I write this and stare at the Christmas cards sitting on the coffee table…staring back at me..reminding me constantly that I am a procrastinator. Sure, I may work best under pressure, but the US Postal Service, unfortunately, does not. (((Sigh)))

The Christmas Spirit has been a hard thing for me to find this year. For one, I admit, as much as I love living in Florida, it is very difficult to get into the Christmas spirit when it is still 80 degrees outside. Though, I’ll get over it.  Money is tight this year, so my own, personal tradition of adopting a family hasn’t been possible and well, my own kids are getting harder and harder to buy for.

Buy for. Bah Humbug! I try, each year, to suggest that we forgo gifts in the true spirit of the holiday. Remember what that is? Anyone?  Mary and Joseph? Do those names sound familiar? Three wise men? I know those don’t really exist any more but they did once. The virgin birth and our Lord Saviour?  I have never been exactly sure how goldfrankincense and myrrh have evolved into the PS3 games and car stereo systems that are on my kids lists this year,but somehow it has happened.

I have thought about taking my children to volunteer at a homeless shelter or soup kitchen, my goal being to show them how lucky they are. Unfortunately, what I fear would happen is this: My oldest, who is forever critical , would spend the time commenting on how these people need to get a job. My youngest, who is a soft hearted soul, would want to give them the shirt off his back and could possibly end up wallowing in depression at 10 years old.

Instead, I will continue telling them how lucky they are. I will tell them how I grew up without television most of my childhood. That the church many times bought our Christmas. How when I was a teen there were many times we were lucky we had electricity. How we would let the gas go in the summer because we didn’t need the heat during the summer, unfortunately that meant cold showers…Of course, they don’t believe me. What kid would? I sound like I am telling the “in my day we walked uphill both ways to school ” story..but it’s true. I have spoiled my children because of this and now the true meaning of Christmas is lost on them.

How do we help them find it? Anyone have any ideas? They know the story, but I don’t think they know the story. Hmmm…

“And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid. And the angel said unto them, ‘Fear not: for behold, I bring unto you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the City of David a Savior, which is Christ the Lord. And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger.’ And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host, praising God, and saying, ‘Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.'”

Merry Christmas, to mydear friends and family..and here’s hoping for a very happy New Year..let’s all hope it is better than the last…

Leave a Reply

