Beaker


I nicknamed Little Reese “Goose” a while ago. We have tried for a long time to come up with a nickname for him having so many Reese’s in the family. I had always called him Silly Goose and then after he saw “Top Gun”, Goose seemed to stick for a while. Until this weekend.

Little Reese is a whiner. Lately, in additon to the whining, he tends to try and talk.  Drives us NUTS! Buddy and I were listening to him go on and on over whatever the latest thing was (we tend to ignore him when the whining starts) and we looked at each other and at the same time said “Beaker”!

Remember Beaker from “The Muppet Show”? The scientists assistant? Well, he sounds just like that when he starts to whine and then talk at the same time. Hence, the new nickname, Beaker.

I hope he quits this soon. I really like Goose better. Can you imagine Beaker on the back of a baseball jersey in 20 years?

Now up to bat, Beaker Chappell” doesn’t flow as well as Chipper Jones, hmmm…but then I guess that Goose probably doesn’t either.  I prefer the story behind Goose better. He is 18 and I have to explain to his girlfriend that he is called Beaker because he whined too much? Yeah – I see him living in our basement forever that way.

Leave a Reply

