Loosing touch


I have a wonderful friend back home, her name is Pat. She and her husband, Joe and Mike (Dad) were regulars at Friday’s where I worked. They were the most wonderful people. I say were because shortly after we moved, Mike and Joe passed away. I swore to myself when I left that I was going to keep in touch, and I did for a while. I am not sure how it happened that I stopped writing, I know about when it happened. Life got busy? No, I don’t think that was it, really. Maybe it was because I was so homesick and I missed the way things were. I know that I missed working and I definitely missed my friends and well, most of them happened to be through work.

I still send her mass spam, just as I do half the people in my address book, but that’s not really keeping in touch. There have been many things that have happened over the past few years that her advice has really helped me with. I would very much like to tell her, but feel very guilty for not having kept in touch.

We all say when we move on, whether to a new school, job, city or state that we will keep in touch, but how often do we really do that? I think I will start trying to do a better job of it – after the move.

In the mean time, I will forward her my blog, hope that I am forgiven and that I hear from her soon!

Leave a Reply

