If you can’t stand the heat…


Ok, we all know how much I love the weather here, right? I miss the sun so much I have had one tattooed on my body so that I can rememeber what it looks like. So, when I call home and everyone is complaining about how hot it is, I have to tell you – I have a hard time feeling sorry for them! It really got to me today as I got the kids up and ready for school. The last day of school is tomorrow. It is almost the middle of June for crying out loud and we had to put on winter coats to go to the bus stop!!!!

Spencer, one of Little Reese’s friends. was telling me about a story he heard on the news this morning about kids in New Jersey getting sent home from school early because it was too hot! Can you imagine?

Global Warming? Where exactly is this taking place? It is not here. Mount Hood is just an hour away and they are still getting snow. Unfortunately, the ski resort closed a couple of weeks ago to get ready for the summer – whenever that is.

Today through Friday it is supposed to rain – I know with the drought that my family in the south probably feels the same about me complaining about the rain as I do with the complaints about the heat. Our high’s are not supposed to top 60 until the weekend, which will still be cloudy and we might make it to 65 – but I haven’t watched the news today, so they could have changed that by now.

I can’t wait until vacation time! We are heading to the beach for two weeks of fun in the sun and sand! The airlines want to charge us for each checked bag? Hey, that’s ok – I can fit a bathing suit, a pair of shorts, a tank top and a pair of flip flops in a back pack- anything else I need – I can get at the beach. No shoes…no shirt..no problem…(except that eventually we have to come back – but I am not going to think about that now)..

…another little update- Mt. Ranier is 2 hours away and a person died there yesterday when they got caught in a BLIZZARD!

Leave a Reply

