The Pro’s and Con’s of Mountain Dew


There was a time that I survived on Mountain Dew. This was long before Starbucks, by the way. I was younger and working two jobs – going straight from one to the other,sometimes in the same uniform from the day before, so the extra caffeine and sugar was often what what kept me upright! Others I worked with used drugs, but I just couldn’t do that, so Dew it was.

Many years later, when I returned to restaurant work, I discovered something even better than Mountain Dew- Starbucks! Oh man – so yummy! and going back to work full time after being a stay at home mom for a few years, the caffeine in a mocha cappuccino or triple vanilla latte was better than any Mountain Dew – and tasted so much better! and then! Oh my! They opened Starbucks – with a drive through- just around the corner from my house! What joy!

Well, at some point the vicious cycle of all this caffeine hits you like a ton of bricks! You need the caffeine to get going during the day, you get going during the day, crash in the afternoon, are super tired that night but have a very hard time sleeping, so the next day, you need another to get you going, and so on and so forth..

Which brings me to blogging at 3:20 a.m. I have all but cut out caffeine – I have one cup of coffee in the morning. I drink water throughout the day and rarely have a soda- and when I do, I buy caffeine free for the kids and Buddy, so it isn’t an issue there. Yesterday afternoon, though, I decided that I had a craving for a dew- two mistakes – a Dew and in the afternoon. So here I am…lots of things running through my head, so I have a couple of blogs to take care of …on to the next one!

Leave a Reply

